Juantita K. Hammons Hall for the Performing Arts
  • 525 S. John Q. Hammons Pkwy

  • Springfield, MO 65806

  • Box Office 417-836-7678

SPRINGFIELD SYMPHONY - Romantic Revolution

  • January 20, 2018, Saturday, 7:30 p.m.
Pre-Concert Lecture
6:30 pm

Pre-Concert Music
7:00 pm

Buy Tickets

Tickets:  $17 - $33 (plus applicable fees)

Composer Johannes Brahms struggled mightily to write his first symphony, living in the shadow cast by the legacy of Beethoven. Brahms finally triumphed, after ten years and countless attempts, and within a year of its first performance his First Symphony was hailed as "Beethoven's Tenth Symphony." The Springfield Symphony Orchestra will perform this triumph of the Romantic Era, along with the romantic Prelude to the opera Lohengrin and Shostakovich's Cello Concerto No. 1, with guest artist cellist Chae Won Hong, 2017 Hellam Young Artists. Competition Winner.

Related Links:
SPRINGFIELD SYMPHONY - Romantic Revolution